What happens to the existing record values if I delete/change an option in the selection field setting?

Article Number:040181

If you delete an option in the selection field setting does not affect the existing value in the record. The value remains the same as it was before you deleted the option in the setting.
If you change the name of an option in the selection field setting, the value in the record will be replaced with the updated name.

The following selection fields are available:

  • Radio Button
  • Drop-down
  • Check box
  • Multi-choice

Example of Deleting an Option from the Selection Field

Suppose that you select "sample 1" from the Drop-down field when you add a record. If you then delete the option "sample 1" from the Drop-down field setting, the value in the record does not change and the selected value "sample 1" remains unchanged even after deleting the option. Example of deleting an option from the multiple-choice field

However, if you change the value in the record to something other than the deleted value and save it, you will not see the deleted option the next time you edit it. Also, the deleted option will not be displayed when you create a new record.

Example of Changing the Name of an Option in the Selection Field.

Suppose that you select "sample 1" from the Drop-down field when you add a record. If you then changed the option from "sample 1" to "sample A" in the Drop-down field setting, the value "sample 1" in the record is replaced with "sample A". Example of changing the name of an option in the selection field