Department Access Control
Department access control is a feature to restrict access to view department information and profiles of other users in different departments.
Restrictions Applied When the Department Access Control Is Enabled
The following restrictions are applied:
- Restrictions on viewing information of users and departments
The display name of the user who belongs to the inaccessible department is replaced by the alternative notation "User (not visible)". You cannot obtain information of users and departments for which you do not have permission, even via Kintone API.
- Restrictions on viewing user profiles
- Restrictions on search
- Restrictions on viewing items and options
Using user selection fields and recipients of comments are also restricted.
Refer to the following page to check what kind of restriction will be applied.
Kintone Help: Restricting Visibility of Departments and User Details Across Different Top-Level Departments
Example of Restricting Access to View User Profiles
If you added multiple affiliated companies in Kintone and enable department access control, only the profiles of members in the same company are accessible.
If department access control is not enabled
The "Affiliated Company A" members can view not only the profiles of other members in the same company but also the profiles of users in other companies.
If department access control is enabled
The "Affiliated Company A" members can view only the profiles of other members in the same company.
The profiles of users in other companies are not accessible.
Enabling Department Access Control
Click in the header.
Click Users & System Administration.
Accessing Kintone Users & System Administration
Click Department Access Control.
Select "Limit access across departments".
Notify users of restrictions on accessing profiles and department information, as necessary.
Disabling Department Access Control
Clear "Limit access across departments" in Step 4 described in Enabling Department Access Control.