Deactivating Users

Article Number:020252

This article describes the procedure to limit the access to Kintone from users without deleting them.
Take a case of a company having any users who will be temporarily prohibited access to Kintone due to temporary leave or temporary assignment. Their access can be restricted by inactivating them without deleting their data.

What Will Happen to Inactive Users

The following conditions are applied to inactive users:

  • Inactive users are not counted towards the number of allowed users of a service.
  • Inactive users cannot login to any service.

Relationship Between Inactive Users and the Number of Licensed Users

Only inactivating or deleting users will not affect the number of licensed users.
Billing for kintone.com is based on the number of licensed users.

For details on how to change your license, refer to the following page:
Checking and Changing Subscription Details

Deactivating Users

Procedures to inactivate users are shown below.

  1. Click gear shaped administration menu icon in the header.

  2. Click "Users & System Administration".

  3. Click Departments & Users.
    Example of menu

  4. Enter a display name or a login name of the user in the search box to search the target user.
    You can also expand the department tree and select the target user.

  5. Click Edit icon for the user.
    Image showing the icon

  6. In "Status", toggle the button from Active to Inactive.
    Image showing the button

  7. Click Save.

About Profiles of Inactive Users

Even you deactivated users, their profiles continue to be viewed.
Other users can view the profiles even for the deactivated users.

To prevent the profiles of deactivated users from being viewed, either of the following actions is necessary.