Allow users to reset password

Article Number:02056

Password reset is a feature that allows users to change their passwords when they forgot them and failed to log in.
Select whether to allow password reset, considering users' usage scenarios.

When Users Are Allowed to Reset Their Passwords

Users can change their passwords with the following flow.

  • STEP 1: Clicking Link in Login Screen Login Security
  • STEP 2: Sending Password Reset E-mail Screen to reset password

Allowing Users to Reset Their Passwords

Allowing the password reset displays the link in the login screen to send a password reset e-mail.
It allows users to solve the login problems by themselves, which will possibly alleviate a burden on administrators.

  1. Click gear shaped administration menu icon in the header.

  2. Click "Users & System Administration".

  3. Click Login. Image of Login

  4. In the "Password Policy" section, select "Allow users to reset password".
    Example of items

  5. Click Save.

  6. Check that the e-mail address that is used when resetting password is registered in the user profile.

    1. Click Departments & Users.
      Example of menu
    2. Enter a display name or a login name of the user in the search box to search the target user.
      You can also expand the department tree and select the target user.
    3. Click Edit icon for the user.
    4. Check "E-mail Address" section.
      This e-mail address is used for e-mail notifications as well.
      "Edit User" screen
  7. Inform users that they should reset their passwords by themselves in case they cannot log in.

Prohibiting Users to Reset Their Passwords

By doing this, users will no longer be able to reset their passwords by themselves.
If users don't know their passwords, they must contact Kintone Users & System Administrators and ask them to reset the passwords.

  1. Click gear shaped administration menu icon in the header.

  2. Click "Users & System Administration".

  3. Click Login. Image of Login

  4. In the "Password Policy" section, deselect "Allow users to reset password".
    Example of item

  5. Click Save.

  6. Create messages on how and to whom the users can ask support when they have trouble logging in.
    Setting Login Failure Messages