Overview of Portal

Article Number:040687

The top page of Kintone is referred to as Portal.
Portal works as an entrance to Kintone. From Portal, you can access the apps and spaces that you want to use and check your notifications. You can also post information that you want to share with other members in the Announcement section and use it as a dashboard.

Portal


Item Description
1 (Quick Access Menu / Portal / Notifications / Bookmarks)
  • Quick Access Menu
  • Opens the Quick Access Menu for navigating to each feature (Apps/Spaces/People) on Kintone.
  • Portal
  • Displays Portal.
  • Notifications
  • Displays the notification list.
    Notifications
  • Bookmarks
  • Lets you bookmark Kintone pages or view the bookmarks you have added.
    How to add/delete bookmarks
2 (School-cap icon) When you click the school-cap icon, the beginner's guide appears. The beginner's guide window shows a collection of menu options you can use when you are new to Kintone or you have some problems.
The school-cap icon is displayed only when you are in the trial period and you set your display language to English. However, if you do not have the permission to create apps, or if the Allow users to create apps that do not belong to any space option is disabled in the Feature Activation settings, the school-cap icon is not displayed even during the trial period.
Configuring Permission to Create Apps
Activating features

Menu options displayed in the beginner's guide window vary depending on user's permissions.
  • Menu options displayed only for Kintone Users & System Administrators
    • Tutorial
    • Invite Team Members
    • Add Apps from Kintone Marketplace
    • Create App From Excel
    • Kintone Blog
    • Kintone Hive
    • Contact Support
    • Help
  • Menu options displayed for all users
    • Tutorial
    • Add Apps from Kintone Marketplace
    • Create App From Excel
    • Kintone Blog
    • Kintone Hive
    • Help
3 (Settings icon) You can access Personal Settings, perform general actions, or access general administrative settings of Kintone.
Users with the Kintone administrative permission can use this button to access Kintone Administration. In Kintone Administration, users can configure various settings related to management and maintenance of Kintone (e.g., permission settings for each feature and customization settings).
Kintone Users & System Administrators can use this button to access Users & System Administration. On Users & System Administration, Kintone Users & System Administrators can perform actions such as adding users and departments and configuring security settings.
For details, refer to the following page:
How to open Kintone Administration and what you can do there
Configuring Permissions in Kintone Users & System Administration
4 (Help button) You can start a Feature Tour or display Help.
If you are a Kintone Users & System Administrator, you can contact support by selecting Contact Us from this button.
5 (People) You can display your own people page.
People
6 (Account Settings / Logout) You can configure your account settings or log out from Kintone.
7 (Search) You can search for data in Kintone.
Data Searching
8 (Options menu) You can create apps and spaces.
Users with the Kintone administrative permission and Kintone Users & System Administrators can also configure Portal from this menu.
9 (Announcements) This is the Announcement section. The section can be used as a dashboard; you can post information to be shared with other members or create a collection of charts or links. The information posted in this section appears on the top page of all the Kintone users.
Only users with the Kintone administrative permission and Kintone Users & System Administrators can edit the Announcement section.
Editing the Announcement Section of Portal
10 (Assigned to Me) This section displays your tasks (records for which you are set as an assignee among the records in apps for which the Process Management feature is enabled). Information displayed in this section varies depending on the user. When no tasks are assigned to you, this section is not displayed.
11 (Notifications) This section displays update notifications from apps, spaces, and people pages. Information displayed in this section varies depending on the user.
Notifications
12 (Spaces) A list of spaces is displayed.
You can use the drop-down list to change the list to display. The list can be selected from the following options: Notes:
  • You cannot reorder spaces in lists other than the Favorite Spaces list.
  • If you are a guest user, only the Favorite Spaces and Joined Spaces lists are displayed.
  • If the Space feature is disabled, the Spaces section does not appear on Portal.
13 (Apps) A list of apps is displayed.
You can use the drop-down list to change the list to display. The list can be selected from the following options:
  • Favorite Apps
    This list shows apps you have added to Favorites. You can also change the order of the spaces.
    Adding Apps to Favorites / Removing Apps from Favorites
    Reordering Favorite Apps
  • Recently Opened Apps
    This list shows up to 50 of the apps you have recently opened in chronological order, with the most recently opened one at the top.
    An app is regarded as a recently opened app when you perform one of the following actions.
    - Opening the "View," "Record Details," "Edit Record," "New Record," or "Duplicate Record" screen on the app
    - Opening the app settings screen of the app
  • Created Apps
    This list shows apps you have created in chronological order, with the most recently created one at the top. This list is not displayed for guest users.
  • Recently Released Apps
    This list shows all apps in chronological order, with the most recently released one at the top. The list does not show apps that belong to spaces which you have not joined.
  • All Apps
    This list shows all apps in name order. The list does not show apps that belong to spaces which you have not joined.
Notes:
  • You cannot reorder apps in lists other than the Favorite Apps list.
  • Apps that are under development and not yet activated do not appear in the lists.