Duplicate Records

Article Number:040731

You can duplicate existing records by copying them to create new records.
It is useful when you want to reuse records by making some modifications to them and use the rest as is.

You can disable the Duplicate Record feature for apps that are not suitable for reusing records.
If you disable the Duplicate Record feature, the copy button Button to duplicate a record is hidden.

Fields and Data That Are Not Copied

When you create a new record by duplicating an existing record, the following fields and data are not copied:

  • Record number
  • Created by
  • Updated by
  • Created datetime
  • Updated datetime
  • Attachment
  • Process Management information (Status and Assignee)
  • Comment
  • History

In addition to the fields in the list above, data of other fields is also not copied if a user who duplicates a record is not granted the "Edit" permission for these fields in the Permissions for Fields setting. In this case, these fields will be left blank.

Steps

  1. Click an app to display the "View" screen (the top page of the app).

  2. Click the button to display record details Button to display record details in the left-most column of the record to duplicate. Opening the "Record Details" screen

  3. Click the button to duplicate the record Button to duplicate the record.
    This opens the screen to add records, with the original data populated. Duplicate

  4. Edit the record as needed. Editing the record

  5. Click Save to save the record.

The record is registered as a new record.

If You Cannot Save Records Due to an Error

There may be a problem in the permission settings or app settings.
For details on how to solve the problem, refer to the following pages:
When I try to save a record, a message "Cannot save the record because of error(s) in the following input data." appears
A message "(Cannot display the item name)" is displayed and I cannot save the record (For app administrators)

Disabling the Duplicate Record Feature

The Duplicate Record feature is enabled by default.
For apps that are not suitable for reusing records, you can disable the Duplicate Record feature and hide the button to duplicate records.

  1. Click the app settings button Settings button at the upper right of the "View" screen, select the App Settings tab, and then select Misc Settings under Advanced Settings.

  2. Deselect Enable the feature to "duplicate record". check box for Duplicate Records feature

  3. Click Save on the upper left side of the screen.

  4. Click Update App on the upper right side of the screen.