Configuration Patterns for the Permissions for App setting

Article Number:040591

This page describes how the Permissions for App setting affects the display of Kintone screens and the actions users can perform in Kintone.

You can configure the following permissions in the Permissions for App setting. Default setting in the Permissions for App

  • View records, Add records, Edit records, Delete records, Manage app, Import from file, and Export to file

If multiple rows of permission settings is applied to a user, the permission of the upper line has higher priority.

Permissions That Cannot Be Selected Independently

Some permissions in the Permissions for App setting are dependent on another permission. Therefore, those permissions cannot be granted independently.
When you select a permission that has a dependency, the dependent permission is automatically selected.

  • You can select "View records," "Add records," and "Manage app" permissions independently. There is no dependent permission for these permissions.
  • When you select "Edit records"permission, "View records" permission needs to be selected as well.
  • When you select "Delete records" permission, "View records" permission needs to be selected as well.
  • When you select "Import from file" permission, "Add records" permission needs to be selected as well.
  • If you select "Export to file" permission, "View records" permission needs to be selected as well.

For example, you cannot select a pair of "Add records" and "Edit records permissions without selecting "View records" permission. Similarly, you cannot select a pair of "Add records" and "Delete records" permissions without selecting "View records" permission.

Configuration Patterns for Permissions

Right after you create an app, the permissions for the app are configured as follows.
Default setting in the Permissions for App

  • For "App creator," all permissions are selected.
  • For "Everyone," only the permissions for record operations (View/Add/Edit/Delete records) are selected. "Manage app", "Import from file", and "Export to file" are not selected.

In the following sections, we explain what actions users can and cannot perform based on possible configuration patterns.

When Only the Permissions for Record Operation (View, Add, Edit, and Delete Records) Are Selected

If you add any of a user, group or department to grant permissions, permissions for record operations (View, Add, Edit, and Delete records) are selected by default.

  • When "View records" and "Add records" are selected
    When these permissions are granted to users, the users can open the app and display the View screen. If there are any records in the app, the users can open the Record Details screen to view each record by selecting a specific record in the View.
    On the View and the Record Details screens, the users will see the New record button Add button, so they can use it to add a new record.
    In addition, on the Record Details screen, the users will see the Duplicate button Duplicate button, so they can duplicate (copy) an existing record to create a new record.

  • When "Edit records" is selected
    When the above permission is granted to users, the users will see the Edit button Edit button on the Record Details screen, so they can use it to edit a record.

    In addition, when there are existing records in the View, the users will see the Edit button Edit button on the right most column of each record, so users can use it to edit each record on the View screen.

  • When "Delete records" is selected
    If this permission is granted to users, the users will see the Delete menu when clicking the Options button Options button on the Record Details screen. The users can delete the displayed record one at a time by selecting this menu.

    In addition, when there are existing records in the View, the users will see the Delete button on the right most column of each record. They can use it to delete each record on the View screen.

Since "Manage app" is not selected, the Settings button Settings button is not displayed on the View and the Record Details screens. It means the users cannot change the App Settings.

In addition, since "Import from file" and "Export to file" are not selected, "Import from File" and "Export to File" menus are not displayed when clicking the Options button Options button on the View screen.

When All Permissions Are Selected

For permissions for record operations (View, Add, Edit, and Delete records), refer to When Only Permissions for Record Operation (View, Add, Edit, and Delete Records) Are Selected.

  • When "Manage app" is selected
    If this permission is granted to users, the users will see the Settings button Setting button on the View and Record Details screens. It means that the users can change the App Settings. In the Settings, users can configure Form, Views, Graphs, and various settings for the app.

    If this permission is granted in the app, the app will be displayed in the Apps section on the "App Management" screen. By clicking the Settings button of the app, you can directly open its App Settings screen.

    Each app needs to have at least one user with Manage app permission granted.

  • When "Import from file" is selected
    If this permission is granted to users, the users will see the Import from File menu when clicking the Options button Options button on the View screen. When users select this menu, they can import data from a file to an app to add new records or overwrite existing records.

  • When "Export to file" is selected
    If this permission is granted to users, the users will see the Export to File menu when clicking the Options button Options button on the View screen. When users select this menu, they can export records from an app to a file, which is useful for data migration or data backup.

    Users will also see the Export to CSV File menu when clicking the Options button Options button in the charts and views showing aggregate results. When users select this menu, they can export the aggregate results to a file.

When No Permission Is Selected

If no permission is granted to users, the users will not see the app in the Apps section on the Portal. In addition, if users try to open the app directly (from the URL, for example) and display the "View" screen, an error message "You do not have rights to add records." is displayed and users cannot use the app.
If permissions are configured like this in the app, the app will not be displayed in the search results.

Also, users cannot change the App Settings, import data from a file, or export data to a file.

When Only "View Records" Is Selected

When this permission is granted to users, the users can open the app and display the View screen. If there are any records in the app, the users can open the Record Details screen to view each record by selecting a specific record in the View.

Users cannot create a new record nor edit, delete, and duplicate existing records. Also, users cannot change the App Settings, import data from a file, or export data to a file.

If users only have the View records permission, they can perform the following actions.

For the apps used mainly for reference purposes (for example, a master app), we recommend that you select "Add records", "Edit records", and "Delete records" permissions only for the users who need to create records and deselect these permissions for other users. By doing this, you can prevent users from adding, editing, deleting records unintentionally.

When Only "Add Records" Is Selected

Users with this permission cannot see records in their record view screen when they open an app, and an error message "Failed to load records. You do not have rights to add records." is displayed.
You can still add new records using a button to add new records Add button displayed on the record view screen and record details screen. However, when you click Save on the screen to add records to create a new record, an error message "Failed to load record details. You do not have rights to add records." is displayed at the top of the screen and you fail to view the record data you added.

Only "Manage App" Is Selected

If only this permission is granted to users, the users will not see the app in the Apps section on the Portal. In addition, if users try to open the app directly (from the URL, for example) and display the "View" screen, an error message "You do not have rights to add records." is displayed and users cannot use the app.

For the users with only this permission configured to open the App Settings screen, click the Settings button in the Apps section on the "App Management" screen.