Configuring Permissions for App

Article Number:040589

By configuring permissions for an app, you can specify or restrict users who can use the app.
You can configure the following items in the "Permissions for App" screen:

  • App groups to which apps belong
  • Permission to view, add, edit, or delete records
  • Permission to manage apps
  • Permission to import data from a file (Add and edit records in bulk)
  • Permission to export data to a file (Export records or aggregate results)

In the following sections, we describes how to configure permissions for each app in "Permissions for App".
You can also apply the same permission to multiple apps. For more details, refer to "Applying the Same Permissions to Multiple Apps".

Default Setting of Permissions

By default, the user who created an app is allowed to perform the following actions: (You can configure which actions are allowed for the app creator.)

  • Managing the app*
  • Permission to import data from a file (Add and edit records in bulk)
  • Permission to export data to a file (Export records or aggregate results)

*Kintone Users & System Administrators are allowed to manage apps regardless of how permissions are configured on the apps.

Steps

  1. Click the app settings button Settings button at the upper right of the "View" screen, select the App Settings tab, and then select App under Permissions.
    Permissions for App

  2. In the "User, group and department to grant permissions to", add users, departments, or groups as needed. Update App

  3. Select actions that you want to allow users, departments, or groups to perform.

    When multiple permission sets are configured for a single user, any permission set that is located higher on the list takes precedence.
    The apps do not appear for users who have no permission to view and add records.

    For example, the following setting allows "John Jones" to perform all the actions and the app does not appear to other users:

    Example 1:
    John Jones [✔] View records [✔] Add records [✔] Edit records [✔] Delete records [✔] Manage app [✔] Import from file [✔] Export to file
    Everyone [  ] View records [  ] Add records [  ] Edit records [  ] Delete records [  ] Manage app [  ] Import from file [  ] Export to file

    For example, the following setting allows users other than "John Jones" to perform all the actions and the app does not appear to "John Jones":
    Example 2:
    John Jones [  ] View records [  ] Add records [  ] Edit records [  ] Delete records [  ] Manage app [  ] Import from file [  ] Export to file
    Everyone [✔] View records [✔] Add records [✔] Edit records [✔] Delete records [✔] Manage app [✔] Import from file [✔] Export to file
  4. Click Save on the upper left side of the screen. Save If you get a caution or an error message when you click Save, refer to If You Get a Message When Trying to Save Settings.

  5. Click Update App on the upper right side of the screen. Update App

If You Get a Message When Trying to Save Settings

If you click Save, you might get a message depending on the settings configured in the Permissions for App.
In that case, refer to the following description to check if there are any issues in your settings.

"The Setting Is Configured to Remove the Permission to Manage the App from the Current User" Is Displayed

A message indicating you will lose the permission

The setting you are trying to save is configured to remove the permission to manage the app from the current user.
Even if "Manage app" permission is selected for you, there is a case where you might not be considered as app administrators. This may happen depending on the permission settings.

In the Permissions for App, if multiple permissions are configured for a user, the permission in the uppermost line has higher priority.

Example: When you belongs to both "Sales Division" and "Sales Support Group" Example of permission settings For example, suppose that "Manage app permission is not granted for the Sales Division" in the first line and "Manage app permission is granted for the Sales Support Group in the second line. In this case, the setting for the "Sales Division" has higher priority. Therefore, users who belong to the Sales Division, including the user who is operating the app, are considered to have no permission to manage app.

To prioritize the permission setting for the "Sales Support Group", you need to move it to the top of the setting list by dragging the arrow button located at the left end of the line.

This message is not displayed to Kintone Users & System Administrators regardless of the permission settings because they have permission to manage all apps.

A Message Is Displayed Indicating That There Is No User Who Can Manage the App

A message indicating that there is no app administrator The setting you are trying to save has no user who has permission to manage this app. You cannot save this setting.
Possible reasons are that "Manage app" is not selected at all in the Permissions for App setting, or it is considered to have no app administrator.

  • "Manage app" permission is not selected at all
    Grant "Manage app" permission to a user, group, or department. Example of setting that Manage app permission is not selected at all

  • The current setting is considered to have no app administrator
    In the Permissions for App, if multiple permissions are configured for a user, the permission in the uppermost line has higher priority.
    Example of setting that is considered to have no app administrator For example, suppose that "Manage app permission is not granted for the Sales Division" in the first line and "Manage app permission is granted for Barbara Miller who belongs to Sales Division" in the second line. In this case, the setting for the "Sales Division" has higher priority. Therefore, Barbara Miller, who belongs to the Sales Division, is not considered to have App Management permission.
    To prioritize the setting for Barbara Miller, move it to the top of the setting list by dragging the arrow button located at the left end of the line.

Kintone Users & System Administrators have permission to manage all apps regardless of the permission settings.

"The App Group Has Been Changed" Is Displayed

A message indicating that the app group has been changed

If any changes have been made to the app group, you will get a confirmation message when you click Save.

The change made to the app group will be applied immediately to the production environment once it is saved on this screen. This operation will be started without you having to update the app. Therefore, you need to make sure that there is no problem with your settings before clicking the Save and apply.

Other changes to the permissions except for app groups will not be applied until you update the app. To apply these changes to the production environment, you need to update the app.