Duplicating/Deleting Fields

Duplicating Fields

You can duplicate existing fields. If you duplicate an existing field, it's settings other than it's field code are also copied.
When you need to create multiple identical fields, you can duplicate an existing field so that you can skip burdensome settings.

To duplicate a field, hover the mouse cursor over the setting icon Gear icon on the upper right side of that field, and click Duplicate.

Deleting Fields

To delete an existing field, hover the mouse cursor over the setting icon Gear icon on the upper right side of that field, and click Delete.

If an Error Message Appears When You Try to Delete Fields

If you encounter an error message while you are trying to delete fields, please refer to the following to find a solution.

Error Message Cause and Solution
Failed to delete the field. The field has been referred from the Lookup field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX". Change or delete the Lookup field settings. The field in this app is specified in the setting of the Lookup field in other app. In this case, you cannot delete the field.
To delete the field, open the app settings page of the app indicated in the error message, and change the setting of, or delete the Lookup fields.
Failed to delete the field. The field has been referred from the Related Record field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX". Change the setting in the source Related Record field or delete the field. The field in this app is specified in the setting of the Related Record field in other app. In this case, you cannot delete the field.
To disable the field, open the app settings page of the app indicated in the error message, and change the setting of, or delete the Related Record fields.
Failed to delete the field. The field has been referred from the Lookup field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX", which was deleted and can be restored.
To disable the field, restore the app "XXXX (App ID: XXXX)", and then change the setting of, or delete Lookup field.
* Only Kintone Users & System Administrators can restore apps. For details, see the Help.
The field in this app is specified in the setting of the Lookup field in deleted app. This field cannot be deleted to prevent the data loss of Lookup fields when restoring of the app is needed.
To delete the field, restore the deleted app, and then change the setting of, or delete the Lookup field. Or, you will be able to delete fields 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.
Only Kintone Users & System administrators (those who create users/departments, and configure security settings) can restore the app.
Failed to delete the field. The field has been referred from the Related Record field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX", which was deleted and can be restored.
To delete the field, restore the app "XXXX (App ID: XXXX)", and then change the setting of, or delete Related Record field.
* Only Kintone Users & System Administrators can restore apps. For details, see the Help.
The field in this app is specified in the setting of the Related Record field in deleted app. This field cannot be deleted to prevent the data loss of Related Record fields when restoring of the app is needed.
To delete the field, restore the deleted app, and then change the setting of, or delete the Related Record field. Or, you will be able to delete fields 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.
Only Kintone Users & System administrators (those who create users/departments, and configure security settings) can restore the app.
Cannot delete the following fields: (XXXX). They have been used to specify an assignee. It occurs because the field you are trying to delete is configured for the assignee of Process Management.
Open Process Management setting, remove the target field from the assignee, and then delete the field from the form. For details, see the "Basic Usage of Process Management" page.
Cannot delete the field. The field is used in the active periodic report "(XXXX)". The field that you are trying to delete is selected for a graph for which Periodic Report is enabled.
In the graph setting screen, disable Periodic Reports. You can also change the graph setting and then delete the field.