Can I Open Records When Comments and History Are Closed?

If the comments feature and the logging feature for change history are enabled, you cannot open the record details screen with the comments/history column closed.
To close the comments/history column, open the record details screen first, and then click the comment icon or the history icon.
Image

Note that if you disable the comments feature and the logging feature for change history, the comments/history column will not be displayed in the record details screen. For details, see the "Disabling the Comments Feature and the Logging Feature for Change History" section.

Disabling the Comments feature and the Logging Feature for Change History

To disable the comments feature or the logging feature for change history, click "Settings" > "Misc Settings", and then deselect "Track change history of records" or "Enable comments". Image