Overview
 
The App Groups page shows properties for app groups on your domain.

What are App Groups?

An app group is a group that enables you to manage the permissions of multiple apps collectively. Every app must belong to an app group.

The following app groups are predefined:

  • Public: An app that is assigned to the "Public" app group is open to all users by default. You can configure the permissions of the app group to restrict specific users from creating or using apps. You can also restrict user access through individual app settings.
  • Private: An app that is assigned to the "Private" app group is open only to the user who created the app. Apps that are used only by the creator are added to this app group. Any user can create an app that is assigned to the "Private" app group, as long as the user has permission to create apps.

In addition to the predefined groups, users can create their own app groups. An app group can allow or disallow users, departments, and groups from performing the following actions:

  • Create apps that are assigned to the group
  • Manage, use, and delete apps that are assigned to the group
Users cannot perform actions that are not allowed by the app group, regardless of whether the actions are allowed by the app's permission settings.
  • Creating or managing app groups requires Kintone Administration permission.

Managing App Groups
  1. From the Gear wheel gear_wheel.PNG select Kintone Administration
  2. Under Permissions, select App Groups.
    • The Default App Group shows the default group an app is in when you create it. You can select Public, Private, or any group you have created, from the drop-down to change the default group.
    • The App Group section shows information about each group. 
      • Click the Editicon to edit the group name shown in the Name column.
      • ID shows the app group ID automatically assigned by the system.
      • Click Permissions to open the Permissions for App Groups page, where you can view and edit permissions. See Editing & Using Permissions below.
      • Click Assigned Apps to view the list of apps in this group. 
      • Click to delete an app group. You cannot delete the Public app group.

Adding a New App Group

  1. From the Gear wheel gear_wheel.PNG select Kintone Administration
  2. Under Permissions, select App Groups.
  3. Click New App Group
  4. Enter a name for the group.
  5. Click Save. The new app group name displays in the list. 

Managing Permissions for App Groups

How to Configure Permissions for App Groups:

  1. From the Gear wheel gear_wheel.PNG select Kintone Administration
  2. Under Permissions, select App Groups.
  3. Click Permissions for the desired app group. 
  4. The Permissions for App Groups page opens, showing the following controls:
    • Drag the arrow icon in the Priority column up or down to change the priority of permissions. The top row has the highest priority, and these permissions take precedence over rows under it.
    • Either enter a User, Group, or Department, or use the User Selector to grant permissions
    • Check the box under Permissions inheritance to allow the permissions to apply to all members of affiliated departments.
    • Check the box under Create apps to allow selected members to create apps.
    • Check the box under Manage apps to allow selected members to manage apps.
    • To delete the row, click  on the right.
    • To add a new permission level, click Add
  5. To save changes, click Save.

Changing the Default App Group

This section explains how to change the app group that a new app is assigned to by default.

How to Change the Default App Group: 

  1. From the Gear wheel gear_wheel.PNG select Kintone Administration
  2. Under Permissions, select App Groups.
  3. Form the Default App Group drop-down list, select the app group you want to set as the default.

Changing an App's Assigned App Group

  1. Within an app, click the Gear wheel Screen_Shot_2017-07-19_at_9.43.03_AM.png on the right.
  2. Under General Settings, select Appearance.
  3. Under App Group, select a group from the drop-down.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Click Update App
Please note:
  • When moving an activated app to another app group, the change in app group will apply to the activated app after you click Save. Any setting change, other than moving the app group, will not apply to the activated app until you click Update App.
  • If an App belongs to a Space, the app group assigned cannot be changed.
  • If an App belongs to a Private Space, regardless of the app permission settings, the app is not available to users who do not have access to the space.

agroup.gif

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.