Notifications

Overview

The notification feature notifies users of any App, Space, and People updates. You receive notifications when another user sends a message to you in a comment or post, and when you are assigned a task by an administrator or another user. To view the Notifications page, click the Notifications Notifications icon in the menu bar.

Checking Notifications

When any updates are made on App, Spaces, or People areas, a notification is sent. Notifications are displayed for two weeks after they are marked as Read. However, a notification marked as "Flagged" remains displayed until it is unmarked.

Notifications can be checked from the following areas:

  • Portal Home
  • Notifications
  • By Email
    • Only for App and Space notifications when email notifications are enabled
Checking Notifications on the Notifications Page 

  1. From Portal Home, click Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_2.37.41_PM.png on the top left.
  2. Click Unread/Read to switch between viewing notifications you have not read and notifications you have read. 
  3. From the drop down, select To Me to view only notifications where you, your group, or your department is mentioned (@me) in a post.
    • The number of "To Me" notifications received will be displayed on the bell icon.
  4. Select Flagged to view notifications you have flagged.
  5. Select All to view all notifications in the portal, not just those that include you.
Checking Notifications from Portal Home

When allowed by a Kintone Administrator, notifications can be displayed on the portal home page.
  1. From Portal Home, scroll down below Announcements to Notifications.
  2. Click Unread/Read to switch between viewing notifications you have not read and notifications you have read. Click the Notification Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_2.37.41_PM.png Icon to display the list of notifications.
  3. Select To Me to view only notifications where you, your group, or your department is mentioned (@me) in a post.
    • The number of "To Me" notifications received will be displayed on the bell icon.
  4. Select Flagged to view notifications you have flagged.
  5. Select All to view all notifications in the portal, not just those that include you.  
Checking Notifications by Email

You can receive App and Space notifications via email. Notifications for the People feature cannot be sent via email. The User Administrator needs to enable this feature. See enabling email notifications.
 
Filtering Notifications

From Portal Home Notifications and on the Notifications page, you can filter which notifications to display.

How to add a notification filter:

  1. From Notifications, click the drop-down list under notifications.
  2. Click New Notification Filter.
  3. Specify each item in the Notification Filter Settings window.
    • Name: Enter a name for the filter.
    • Notification Type: To narrow it down only to To Me notifications, select To Me.
    • Locations: To filter notifications by a specific app or space, select either Includes any of or Does not include and specify the location.
    • Sent From: To narrow down to only the notifications of actions by a specific user, specify the user.
  4. Click Save.

Flagging Notifications

Flagged notifications remain displayed even after the notification display period (two weeks) elapse, and they remain displayed until being unflagged. From Portal Home Notifications or on the Notifications page, select Flagged from the dropdown to display a list of your flagged notifications.
 
How to Flag Notifications:
  1. While viewing a notification, hover over the notification and click Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_2.57.09_PM.png.
    • Flagged notifications will display as Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_2.57.38_PM.png.

How to Remove a Flagged Notification:

  1. While viewing the notification, click Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_2.57.38_PM.png to remove the flag.
When and to Whom Notifications are Sent


Notifications are sent at the following times to thread followers and users specified in the body text.

Feature When a Notification Is Sent Users Who Receive a Notification User Who Receives a "To Me" Notification Receives an email notification?
App When a condition for "General Notifications" is met
  • Users who are specified in Recipients
  • Users who are a member of the specified department or group in Recipients
  • User who created the record
  • User who updated the record
  • User who is applicable for the following fields that are specified in Recipients:
    • User selection
    • Department selection
    • Group selection
When a condition for "Per Record Notifications" is met (N/A)
  • User who created the record
  • User who is specified in Recipients
  • User who is a member of the specified department or group in Recipients
  • User who is applicable for the following fields that are specified in Recipients
    • User selection
    • Department selection
    • Group selection
When a condition for "Reminder Notifications" is met (N/A)
  • User who created the record
  • User who updated the record
  • User who is specified in Recipients
  • User who is a member of the specified department or group in Recipients
  • User who is applicable for the following fields that are specified in Recipients
    • User selection
    • Department selection
    • Group selection
When a record is edited (N/A) User who is assigned as the assignee as of the edit1
When a comment is posted to a record Users who have posted a comment to the record2
  • User who is specified in the comment recipient
  • User who is assigned as the assignee as of the post1
When the status of a record is changed (N/A) User who is assigned as the assignee as of the change1
When records are created or updated with a file (N/A) User who imported the file
When exporting records to a file is completed (N/A) User who exported the records to the file
When a periodic report is logged Users who set the periodic report (N/A)
 When a periodic report logging fails  App administrator (N/A) 
Space When a space is created (N/A) Space members
When body text in a space is edited Space members User who is specified in the body text recipient
When the public/private setting of a space is changed

Space members

(N/A) (N/A)
When a guest joins a space Space members (N/A) (N/A)
When a thread is created (N/A)
  • Thread followers
  • User who is specified in the body text recipient
When body text is edited in a thread Thread followers User who is specified in the body text recipient
When a comment is posted to a thread Thread followers User who is specified in the comment recipient
When "Like" is clicked for a thread comment Users who posted the comment (N/A) (N/A)
People When you post a comment to your profile Your followers User who is specified in the comment recipient (N/A)
When you post a comment to another user's profile The profile owner's followers
  • The profile owner
  • User who is specified in the comment recipient
(N/A)
When "Like" is clicked for a profile comment Users who posted the comment (N/A) (N/A)
When a message is posted (N/A) User who is a recipient of the message (N/A)
When "Like" is clicked for a message Users who posted the message (N/A) (N/A)
*1: The user is notified if the Process Management feature is enabled.
2: The user is notified if the "Send updated comment notifications to all commenters" check box is checked in the "General Notifications" setting.
 

What Are "To Me" Notifications?

To Me notifications are notifications where you are specified as the recipient. The number of To Me notifications received will be displayed on the bell icon located on the top of the screen.

To Me notifications include:

  • Notifications generated when a comment with you specified as the recipient is posted on an app or a space
  • Notifications generated when you receive a message
  • The following app notifications:
    • Notifications generated on updates or comment postings to the following records:
      • Records that you created
      • Records in which you are selected in the User selection field in the form
    • Notifications generated by a value of app record meeting a certain condition
    • Reminder notifications
    • Notifications generated when you get assigned as the assignee in an app with Process Management enabled

Please note, if you specify yourself as the recipient and post a comment, a notification will not be sent.

Marking Read Notifications as Unread

To mark a read notification as unread:

  1. Click Notifications on the upper side of the screen.
  2. Click Read.
  3. Click the check box that is located on the upper right side of the screen. 
  4. Click Screen_Shot_2018-07-27_at_3.08.09_PM.png on the notification to mark it as unread.
Click Unread to display unread notifications.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.