Reducing the Number of Licensed Users

The number of licensed users must be the same as the number of application users of Kintone, or must be greater than the number of application users.
It is not possible to change the number of licensed users to go below the number of application users.

  • Example: If you want to change the number of licensed users from 50 to 40:
    The current number of application users is 50.
    In order to reduce the number of licensed users to 40, it is necessary to set the status to "Inactive" for at least 10 users and reduce the number of application users to 40 or less.

Procedure

For details, refer to the following page:
Reducing the Number of Licensed Users

Situations and Workaround

If You Find Any User Who Has Not Logged in to Kintone for a Long Time Due to Temporary Leave, Temporary Assignment, or Other Reasons

If there is any user who does not log in to Kintone for an extended period of time due to leave of absence, temporary assignment, or other reasons, we recommend you to temporarily deactivate the user instead of deleting the user.
Deactivated users cannot log in to Kintone. Also, note that deactivated users are not counted towards the number of allowed users of the service.

  • Example: Number of licensed users is "50", and number of active users is "48".
    There are 2 inactive users in Kintone at this point.
    Next week, User A and User B take a leave of absence, and their statuses are changed to Inactive. As a result, the number of active users becomes "46".
    With this change, there are 4 inactive users in Kintone now.

When they return to work, they become able to access Kintone, just by changing their statuses from Inactive to Active.
For details, refer to "Deactivating or Reactivating Users".

If You Find Any User You Want to Prohibit Access to Kintone Due to Transfer or Retirement

If there is any user for whom you want to prohibit access to Kintone, we recommend you to temporarily deactivate the user instead of deleting the user.
Deactivated users cannot log in to Kintone. Also, note that deactivated users are not counted towards the number of allowed users of the service.

You must first deactivate the user, and check What Happens to Data When a User Is Deleted, and then delete the user as needed.