Changing the Priority Department

Article Number:020238

The priority department is a function to designate the department that will appear on pages such as Profile preferentially if the user belongs to multiple departments.
It allows to clearly indicate to other users in which department the user has main activities when this user belongs to multiple departments.

Example in the profile

Image showing "Priority Department" in the profile

How to Change

  1. Click gear shaped administration menu icon in the header.

  2. Click "Users & System Administration".

  3. Click Departments & Users. Example of menu

  4. Enter a display name or a login name of the user in the search box to search the target user.
    You can also expand the department tree and select the target user.

  5. Click Edit icon for the user.
    Image showing the icon

  6. In "Priority Department", open the drop-down list and select the target department.
    Image showing the field

  7. Click Save.

Situations and Workaround

Depending on the registered user details, priority departments cannot be configured.

When nothing is displayed in "Priority Department" drop-down list

Departments have not been set.
After you configure the departments, those departments are shown in the drop-down list.
Drop-down list with no department configured

When "Priority Department" drop-down list shows only one department

Only one department is configured.
The drop-down list shows multiple options only when you have configured multiple departments.
Drop-down list when only one department is configured