For Department Administrators: Adding or Deleting Users

Article Number:020132

Adding Users

This section describes how department administrators add users.

  1. Access the following URL: https://(subdomain_name).kintone.com/

  2. Click Administration.
    Screenshot: "Administration" button

  3. Click Departments & Users.
    Screenshot: "Departments & Users" is highlighted

  4. From the department tree, select a department to which you want to add a user.

    • Departments:
      Lists users who belong to the selected department for which you have administrative privileges.
    • Unassigned Users:
      Lists users who do not belong to any department.
    • All Users:
      Lists users who belong to the departments for which you have administrative privileges and users who do not belong to any department.
  5. Click New User. Screenshot: "New User" is highlighted

  6. Enter user details.
    For details on each field, refer to "User Details Fields".
    When department administrators perform the actions, keep in mind the following settings.

    • Department:
      Specify a department to which the user will belong. You can select one from the departments for which you have administrative privileges. Departments must be created beforehand.
      For details, refer to "Managing Departments".
    • Custom field:
      Department administrators can add, change, or delete the values of custom fields.
      Custom fields can be created only by Kintone Users & System Administrators.
      A custom field with "User selection" provides a department administrator with options consisting of users who belong to departments for which the department administrator has administrative privileges and users who do not belong to any department.
  7. Click "Save".
    Screenshot: "Save" is highlighted

  8. On the "Create Password" dialog box, set a password for the user you are creating.

    • You can have the system generate a password automatically, or you can enter a password manually.
    • Select "Show password" to check the password of the user.
    • Select "Disable password expiration" to disable the expiration of the password regardless of how the password policy is configured. Note that this is applied only to the user that you are currently editing.
  9. When you want to send the password and login instructions to the user via e-mail, click "Create and Send via E-mail" and proceed to the next step.
    When you do not want to send the information via e-mail, click "Create" to save the user details.

  10. On the "Send Password and Login Information via E-mail" dialog box, confirm the e-mail address of the recipient. Edit the body text as needed.

  11. Click Send.

Deleting Users

A department administrator can delete a user only when the department administrator has administrative privileges for all of the departments to which the user belongs.

  • Example where the administrator can delete the user:
    Figure: Showing that it is possible to delete users from their departments if you have administrative privileges for the departments

  • Example where the administrator cannot delete the user:
    Figure: Showing that it is not possible to delete users from their departments if you do not have administrative privileges for the departments

Department administrators can use the following procedure to delete a user:

  1. Access the following URL: https://(subdomain_name).kintone.com/

  2. Click Administration.
    Screenshot: "Administration" button

  3. Click Departments & Users.
    Screenshot: "Departments & Users" is highlighted

  4. Select a department, and then click Edit icon for the user you want to delete.

    • Departments:
      Lists users who belong to the selected department for which you have administrative privileges.
    • Unassigned Users:
      Lists users who do not belong to any department.
    • All Users:
      Lists users who belong to the departments for which you have administrative privileges and users who do not belong to any department.
  5. Click "Delete This User".

  6. Click PERMANENTLY DELETE USER on the confirmation screen.