For Department Administrators: Editing or Deleting Departments

A department administrator can change or delete departments for which the department administrator has administrative privileges, and the children of those departments.

Changing Departments

Use the following procedure to change a department.

  1. On the "Kintone Users & System Administration" page, under "User Administration", click Departments & Users. Image of the "Departments and Users"

  2. On "Departments & Users" screen, hover the mouse cursor over the gear icon of the department.
    Click "Edit" from the list.
    Image of selecting "Edit" on the "Departments and Users" screen

  3. Fill in the fields as needed.
    Required fields are indicated with "*".
    Department details consist of the fields listed below.

    Field Name Description
    Name
    • Display Name
    • Enter the name of the department that will appear in the services.
    • Localized Name
    • Enter a name for the department that will appear for users who uses the specified language.
    Department Code Enter a code unique to this department. If you leave this field blank, the system sets a string automatically.
    Parent Department Select a parent from departments for which you have administrative privileges.
    Description Enter a description of the department.
    This description does not appear on any pages other than the "Kintone Users & System Administration" page.
    1. Click "Save" to complete the settings.

Notes on Moving a Child Department to a Different Parent Department

Department administrators need to consider the following before they move a child department to a different parent department.
When a department administrator has administrative privileges for a child department, the department administrator can move the child to a new parent department for which the department administrator has administrative privileges. However, the department administrator cannot move the child back to the original parent unless the department administrator has administrative privileges for the original parent.

This example describes which actions are allowed for a department administrator who has administrative privileges for the Operations Department and the Sales Division.

  • Allowed action: Move a child department to a new parent when the department administrator has administrative privileges for the child and the new parent.
    Figure to show the allowed action of moving a child department to a new parent when the department administrator has administrative privileges for the child and the new parent

  • Disallowed action: Move a child department to a new parent when the department administrator has administrative privileges for the child but not for the new parent.
    Figure to show the disallowed action of moving a child department to a new parent when the department administrator has administrative privileges for the child but not for the new parent

To move the Operations Department back to the original parent, the department administrator needs to perform one of the following actions:

  • Request that Kintone Users & System Administrators to move the Operations Department to the HR Division.
  • Request that Kintone Users & System Administrators to grant the department administrator administrative privileges for the HR Division.

Deleting Departments

Use the following procedure to delete a department.

  1. On the "Kintone Users & System Administration" page, under "User Administration", click Departments & Users. Image of the "Departments and Users"
  2. On "Departments & Users" screen, hover the mouse cursor over the gear icon of the department.
    Click "Delete" from the list.
    Consider the points listed below. If everything is OK, click "Delete" on the confirmation screen.
    • Deleting a parent department deletes its child departments.
    • Deleting a department revokes the access permissions set on the department. When the access permissions set on a department are used to limit the visibility of data, deleting the department might make the data public. Image of selecting "Delete" on the "Departments & Users" screen